UniWyo Federal Credit Union was formed by nine University of Wyoming employees, and chartered in 1953. Oscar "Jack" Hendrix was elected the first president, Larry Clark the first treasurer. It was several years before the credit union grew large enough to have paid employees and a permanent location. During it's first few decades, the credit union operated from the Wyoming Student Union, Graduate Hall (now known-as McWhinnie Hall), and eventually Knight Hall.
In 1980, UniWyo Federal Credit Union built its first location off of the UW Campus. The 15th Street facility was also the first office owned by the credit union. As credit union membership grew during the 1980s and 1990s, so did the lobby and drive-through. Between 1999 and 2001, UniWyo gave more than $1,000,000 in bonus dividends back to its member owners. The credit union's continued growth and success meant it needed more space, so in 2005, UniWyo built and moved into its Reynolds Street Location.
Although UniWyo had moved off campus, the credit union retained strong ties to the University. In 2005, UniWyo pledged $1,000,000 to the UW Foundation. A portion of its money continues to fund annual UW scholarships for UniWyo members. As part of the contribution agreement, UniWyo opened an on-campus branch on 2007, in McWhinnie Hall - returning to one of its earliest locations.
In 2015, UniWyo acquired office space on Grand Avenue directly across from the University of Wyoming and War Memorial Stadium. Despite a steep decline in the Wyoming economy caused by the bust in coal, oil, and gas industries, UniWyo has continued to experience unprecedented growth in lending, with strong growth in assets and deposits as well. Today, the credit union continues to look for ways to grow, evolve, and better serve its members.